Albania is a parliamentary representative democratic republic, wherein the Prime Minister is the head of government. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is under the parliament, the Assembly of the Republic of Albania (Albanian: Kuvendi). Since the introduction of pluralism in 1991, the multi-party system is dominated by the Democratic Party and the Socialist Party. Parliamentary elections are held every four years. The Parliament, formerly during communism the People's Parliament (Albanian: Kuvendi Popullor) is the unicameral parliament of the Republic of Albania. It has 140 members. The electoral system is closed list proportional representation. There are 12 multi-member constituencies, corresponding to the country's 12 administrative regions. 

The President has more or less a honorific role in the state, but the constitution recognizes him as a figure above the partisan politics, so he has the power to guarantee the observation of the constitution and all laws. The President acts as the commander in chief of the Albanian armed forces and when the parliament is not in session, the President exercises the duties of the parliament of the Republic of Albania. 

Albania is a member of the United Nations, NATO, the OSCE, the Council of Europe and the World Trade Organization. It is one of the founding members of the Energy Community and the Union for the Mediterranean. It is also an official candidate for membership in the European Union.

A Yesterday and Today